The Raoul Wallenberg Awards, first presented in 1985 by the Raoul Wallenberg Committee of the United States, and the Civic Courage Award, first presented in 1986, have been bestowed periodically on a select number of individuals, organizations, and communities whose courage, selflessness and success against great odds personified those of Raoul Wallenberg himself.

Raoul Wallenberg Award Recipients

» . 2012: Raymond W. Kelly, Commissioner of the New York City Police Department - Commissioner Kelly stands as a symbol for New York City and its citizens as a bastion of hope in the fight against terrorism. In times of crisis, he has acted on principle and always with conviction, pragmatism and courage.

» . 2001: Prime Minister Goran Persson of Sweden - For his ground-breaking stand on Holocaust education in Sweden, for keeping the Wallenberg case open, and for public apologies to Wallenberg's family for steps not taken to secure his release by former Swedish governments.

» . 2000: Elisabeth and Alexander Kasser – Elisabeth was Raoul Wallenberg's personal translator. Alexander worked with Prof. Valdemar Langlet to organize and run the Swedish Red Cross in Budapest and was responsible for saving many lives with the "Schutzbrief" (protection letter) that he designed.

» . 1997: Ambassador Robert S. Strauss - For his work on the Wallenberg Case while he was Ambassador to the Soviet Union, and his lifelong commitment to human relations.

» . 1995: Elizabeth Dole - For her humanitarian work as President of the American Red Cross.

» . 1994:

Harvey M. Meyerhoff - For his unceasing work to make the United States Holocaust Museum a reality.
Thomas Veres, Raoul Wallenberg's personal photographer who, at the age of 18, showed extraordinary courage as he worked with Wallenberg to document the Nazi's inhumanity and Raoul Wallenberg's lifesaving efforts.
Ambassador and Mrs. Nicholas M. Salgo for their generous and thoughtful donation of a statue honoring RW in Buadapest, Hungray.

» . 1991: Alan C. Greenberg - For the very special "Magic" he has performed for The Wallenberg Committee and for so many others.

» . 1990:

Miep Gies - The Dutch heroine who provided a hideout and protection for Anne Frank and her family.
Senpo Sugihara - A Japanese diplomat who lost his career and risked his life issuing official exit visas to thousands of Jews in Lithuania and Giorgio Perlasca - An Italian, working in disguise at the Spanish Embassy in Budapest, who saved thousands of Jews

» . 1987: H. Ross Perot - For his personal courage in the dramatic rescue of his American employees being held captive in Iran.

» . 1985: Raoul Wallenberg - In Absentia

Civic Courage Award Recipients

» . 2001 - The City of New York - For all of its citizens, who searched for the missing, cared for the injured, gave comfort to loved ones of the missing or lost, and provided sustenance and encouragement to those who searched through the rubble at ground hero.

» . 1990
- The Nation of Denmark - For humanitarian efforts of the Danish People in sea-lifting their Jewish population to safety in Sweden.

» . 1997
- The City of Billings, Montana - For its stand in the face of bigotry, helping to set an example for communities across America.

» . 1986
- The City of Coeur D'Alene, Idaho - For the stand that its citizens took against militant Neo-Nazis harassing individuals in the community.

The Raoul Wallenberg Committee of the United States